Bukchon Hanok Village

Despite of Seoul’s modernization, at some areas, we still could find some trace of Korean’s old life and Buckhon Hanok Village is one of them. Eventho’ its name as village, it’s located at downtown Seoul and very accessible. Imagine Bukchon as Menteng whereas both of them located at the downtown and became preserved district, Buckhon itself consists of many korean traditional houses named Hanok -a korean word for house during Joseon dynasty-. Nowadays, those Hanok aren’t only for private living houses but some of them also served as cultural center, homestays, cafe, until shops.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

I love strolling around Buckhon and enjoying street’s view of korean-wooden old houses. At some private Hanok, I always spot some keep silence notice at its door and that’s enough understandable since most of tourist usually very enthusiast. Honestly, I  also admire those households which could managed to live there since those streets always full of people. Beside those old houses, I also spotted some cute things during my time at Buckhon such as a traditional mail box until spiderman, LOL.

Processed with VSCO with  presetSince Buckhon‘s location is enough high from its surrounding, it also give beautiful view during autumn whereas I spotted Samcheongdong gil road and its cafes from above. Anyway, the last pic from this post was taken between Buckhon and Samcheondong alley, it’s an usual small street but if you look carefully, you could spotted a fake cherry blossom at the background alley which later on, became the location of Grim Reaper and Sunny did their first kiss at Goblin drama, so imagine my surprised when I see that cherry-blossom kissing scene, I was like, I’ve been there too!

Processed with VSCO with f2 presetAddress:
37, Gyedong-gil, Jongno-gu, Seoul

How to go there:
By subway. Get off at Anguk Station (subway line 3) exit 1 or 2 and go straight for about 300 m to arrive at Bukchon Hanok Village.

Level of love:
♥♥♥ (I didn’t follow the exact route but wandering around Buckhon street is also fun! If you want to follow the exact route made by Seoul Tourism Organization, click here)

Leave a comment